A Melanie list…

Today, I thought I’d share two things with you. One, a new song that Melanie wrote. And secondly, a list of questions that I’ve been hearling lately. One can never have enough wisdom.

First, the lyrics of the song, which was sung in my backseat on the way home from church last night.

Why Do I Have To?
by Melanie
Why do I have to be kind to my friends?
Why do I have to wipe my nose when it runs?
Why do I have to use a tissue when I pick my nose?
Why do I have to wipe the front hole and the back?
Why do I have to obey with a happy heart?
Why do I have to go to bed before the grownups?
Why do I have to be three?
I was trying so hard not to laugh. She was singing in this really high, little girl voice, and the “why do I have to” parts were always the same notes – it was like a real song, but no rhyming. Too funny.
Here are some of the questions I’ve been hearing in the past few days, just so you know what I am dealing with.
  • Why doesn’t all the “stuff” come out of one hole when I go potty?
  • How do eyebrows know where to grow on your forehead?
  • How come girls can’t stand up to go potty? We are much more busy and in a hurry than the boys are, that just doesn’t make sense!
  • Why do we have to have 6 different “memotes” (remotes) to work just 1 tv?
  • Why do the fingernails have to be cut? Why don’t they just stay the same like real nails?
  • Why can’t we SEE the trees and grass growing when it rains?
  • How does a body know where to grow the hair, and where not to grow the hair? What if it grows in a wrong place? Can it suck back in?
  • Why does the mailman carry a purse?
  • Why can’t letters just make one sound instead of like fifty-two-hundred-nine?

There’s a glimpse into the day in the life. I’d appreciate your prayers 🙂

Leave a comment